I have a new job at UBC

Dear friends. I am very excited to let you know that at the end of this week I will have officially started my new job as a tenure-track instructor in the department of physics and astronomy at the University of British Columbia.

This is the department from which I received my PhD, so it is sort of like going home. The department has a great nucleus of Physics Education Research researchers, dabblers and enthusiasts, and thanks mostly to the Carl Wieman Science Education Initiative, there is also a large discipline-based science education research community there as well. I have a lot of wonderful colleagues at UBC and I feel very fortunate to start a job at a new place where it should already feel quite comfortable from the moment I start.

A major portion of my job this coming year is going to be curriculum development for a new first-year international student college (called Vantage). I will be working with folks like myself from physics, chemistry and math, as well as academic English language instructors to put together a curriculum designed to get prepare these students for second-year science courses. I will be teaching sections of the physics courses for Vantage College and bringing my education research skills to bear on assessing its effectiveness as the program evolves over the first few years. Plus I will be teaching all sorts of exciting physics courses in the department of physics and astronomy.

The hardest part about leaving UFV is leaving my very supportive colleagues and leaving all my students that have not yet graduated. Fortunately it will be easy for me to head back for the next couple of years to see them walk across the stage for convocation (and not have to sit on stage cursing that coffee that I drank). 

Stay tuned for some new adventures from the same old guy.

6 Comments on “I have a new job at UBC”

  1. Melissa says:

    Congratulations! Sounds like a great opportunity.

  2. Andy "SuperFly" Rundquist says:

    Congrats! I would assume the student population is pretty different, huh? In addition to the Vantage stuff, will you get to teach some old classes at the new place?

    • Joss Ives says:

      One of the things that I was pleasantly surprised by was how many outstanding students we have had at UFV, but I expect the high-achiever density to increase at UBC. I certainly hope to be back teaching some of my old favorites (or similar) in the not-so-distant future. And I have been given every indication that this will be possible. There are also some very interesting new-to-me courses at UBC that I hope to get a chance to teach such as the graduate PER course. I’m usually most excited about whatever I am teaching at the moment anyway so everything is gravy.

  3. bretbenesh says:

    Vantage sounds cool, and you were a great choice to help shape it.

  4. […] previously mentioned, a significant component of my new job at UBC this year is curriculum design for a first year […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers